Monday, February 3, 2014

The Magic Book Bag: Fantasy Book Haul For February 03 2014

Mulluane | Monday, February 03, 2014 | 5 Comments so far

No, you read that right I have a magic book bag! It is a wondrous thing granted to me by a grateful dragon after I removed a splinter the size of a small tree from his foot. Now ever so often books will magically appear from within its depths. I never know what I'll get but no matter what, it is a glorious thing!

A few weeks ago, a book from Pyr appeared within this magical bag. Much to my delight it was a stand alone volume of dark epicness I am currently reading for review here in the Belfry.

Here are the details:


The Barrow

Mark Smylie

700 pp • ISBN 978-1-61614-891-1
Paperback • $18.00
March 2014
Cover Illustration © Gene Mollica

Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner-nominated Artesia comic books.

The Burrow by Mark SmylieWhen a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place.

Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross-section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, brought together by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books, or get them all killed.


Oh but it gets better! Friday I noticed the Magic Book Bag looking a bit full. Peering into its depths, fully expecting to find my cat, I discovered this amazing array of books instead!

Book Collage


Stupendous! This lot were all titles from wonderful people at Harper Voyager. One of them was even signed! I have no idea how they got into my book bag but I suspect they must have elves or gremlins on their staff. Not one to question good fortune I'll just run down the list for you.



The Wasteland Saga by Nick Cole

The Wasteland Saga by Nick ColeForty years after a devastating thermonuclear Armageddon, mankind has been reduced to salvaging the ruins of a broken world. In a style that's part Hemingway and part Cormac McCarthy's The Road, The Wasteland Saga chronicles the struggle of the Old Man, his granddaughter, and a mysterious boy as they try to survive the savage lands of this new American Dark Age.

With the words of the Old Man's most prized possession—a copy of Hemingway's classic The Old Man and the Sea—echoing across the wasteland, they journey into the unknown through three incredible tales of endurance and adventure in a land ravaged by destruction.




Dead Set by Richard Kadrey

Dead Set by Richard KadreyAfter her father's funeral, Zoe moved to the big city with her mother to start over. But change always brings trials, and life in the city is not so easy. Money is tight, and Zoe's only escape, as has always been the case, is in her dreams—a world apart from her troubled real life where she can spend time with her closest companion: her lost brother, Valentine.

But something or someone has entered their dreamworld uninvited. And a chance encounter at a used record store, where the vinyl holds not music but lost souls, has opened up a portal to the world of the restless dead. It's here that the shop's strange proprietor offers Zoe the chance to commune with her dead father. The price? A lock of hair. Then a tooth. Then . . .





The Taken by Vicki Pettersson

The Taken by Vicki Pettersson
Griffin Shaw used to be a PI, but that was back when gumshoes hoofed the streets . . . and he was still alive. Fifty years later, he's an angel, but that doesn't make him a saint. One small mistake has altered fate, and now he's been dumped back onto the mortal mudflat to collect another soul—Katherine "Kit" Craig, a journalist whose latest investigation is about to get her clipped.

Bucking heavenly orders, Grif refuses to let the sable-haired siren come to harm. Besides, protecting her offers a chance to solve the mystery of his own unsolved murder—and dole out some overdue payback for the death of his beloved wife, Evie.

Joining forces, Kit and Grif's search for answers leads beyond the blinding lights of the Strip into the dark heart of an evil conspiracy. But a ruthless killer determined to destroy them isn't Grif's biggest threat. His growing attraction to Kit could cost them both their lives, along with the answer to the haunting question of his long afterlife . . .




Dreams and Shadows by C. Robert Cargill

Dreams and Shadows by C. Robert Cargill There is another world than our own—one no closer than a kiss and one no further than our nightmares—where all the stuff of which dreams are made is real and magic is just a step away. But once you see that world, you will never be the same.

Dreams and Shadows takes us beyond this veil. Once bold explorers and youthful denizens of this magical realm, Ewan is now an Austin musician who just met his dream girl, and Colby, meanwhile, cannot escape the consequences of an innocent wish. But while Ewan and Colby left the Limestone Kingdom as children, it has never forgotten them. And in a world where angels relax on rooftops, whiskey-swilling genies argue metaphysics with foul-mouthed wizards, and monsters in the shadows feed on fear, you can never outrun your fate.




And last and my hands down favorite: (This entire series will be reviewed soon on Dragons, Heroes and Wizards. )



Dragon Haven by Robin Hobb

Dragon Haven by Robin Hobb
Centuries had passed since dragons last roamed the war-torn world of the Rain Wild River. But as peace once again settled upon the land, a lost generation of sea serpents—ancient, half-starved, and weary—returned to cocoon, certain that they would be reborn as the beautiful and powerful dragons of legend. But their arduous journey exacted a heavy toll, and the proud serpents emerged as sickly, half-formed beasts, unable to fly or hunt . . . or thrive. For years now they have been trapped on a swampy riverbank between forest and river, hungry and barely alive, reliant on humans to provide for them.

With their survival at stake, fifteen dragons—among them the wise golden Mercor, the haughty and dazzling silver-blue queen Sintara, and the delicate copper beauty Relpda—have set off on a dangerous trek into the unknown, up the Rain Wild River, in hopes of rediscovering the ancient Elderling city of Kelsingra, the lost haven for dragons and Elderlings alike. The dragons are accompanied by a disparate group of human keepers, rejects from Rain Wild society. They, too, yearn to find Kelsingra and create a home of their own, one in which they may make their own rules and decide their own fate. But is Kelsingra real or merely a fragment of a glorified past buried deep in the dragons' shared memories? No map exists to guide them, and the noble creatures find their ancient recollections of little use in a land changed by generations of flooding and seismic chaos.

As the dragons, the humans—including the strong and defiant Rain Wild girl Thymara; the wealthy dragon scholar and Trader's wife, Alise; and her companion, the urbane Sedric—and their magical supply barge, captained by the gruff Leftrin, forge their way ever deeper into uncharted wilderness, human and beast alike discover they are changing in mysterious and dangerous ways. While the bonds between them solidify, starvation, flashfloods, and predators will imperil them all. But dragons and humans soon learn that the most savage threats come from within their own company . . . and not all of them may survive.


What an awesome haul!

But now I need your help. Magic Book Bags are marvelous things but not too good at mind reading. As a result there are 4 books here that fall well outside my normal reading fare. But I am willing to take a chance and try one or more of these fine examples of Urban, Paranormal, Contemporary and Dystopian fantasy. 

So what do you suggest for a traditional fantasy reader? I am leaning towards giving Dreams and Shadows a try but I'm not sure. What do you recommend? Any? All? Help!





Mulluane is a 55-year-old proud grandmother of 4, who is passionate about her pets, blogging, traditional fantasy, and tinkering with webdesign. She is obssesively photo shy but she uses an avatar that accurately represents her dreams. ♥ You can also find her on:

Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Pinterest
Dragons, Heroes and Wizards

5 comments :

  1. "The Barrow" Mark Smylie aroused my interest. I like long stories and 700 pages should be enough to tell a good story.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am about 1/2 way through it and I'll say one thing. It is definitely dark! I'll have the review up soon. I don't like posting ARC reviews too early but a month or maybe bit less before release feels right.

      Delete
  2. I'm most intrigued by Hobb's dragons, myself. Of the four middle ones, I think you're right: Dreams and Shadows is at least worth looking into further. {Smile}

    Anne Elizabeth Baldwin

    ReplyDelete
  3. Dreams and Shadows it is!

    Thanks Anne.

    ReplyDelete

I LOVE comments. Thanks for leaving your thoughts!

Love Fantasy? Enjoy Quotes? Book Reviews? Interviews? Lists?
Come Join In The Fun!
Please enter your email address to have our bats deliver great new content straight into your inbox:

Delivered by FeedBurner
Thanks!